Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information at PSU
Through databases and our physical holdings, PSU Library provides outstanding access to state and federal documents. Much more detailed guides can be found here and here.
Government Documents at PSU
Portland State University is a member of the Federal Depository Library Program, which entitles us to receives copies of materials published by the US Federal Government. At present, we receive 86% of all materials published by the Government Publishing Office, and our collection of ~850,000 government documents makes PSU one of the largest depositories on the west coast. PSU Library is also a member of the Oregon Documents Repository Program, through which we receive Oregon Government Publications. Most of these materials are on the 4th floor of the library, though some OR legislative & legal material is on the 3rd floor. ALL of these materials can be found through the Library catalog. (EXAMPLE) Finally, the depository at PSU also holds a number of unique documents collections, include the Hanford Documents.
Government Documents through Databases
Offers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data.
CFDA; Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Covers all federal programs available to all states and local governments including the District of Columbia, federally-recognized Indian tribal governments as well as the territories and possessions of the U.S. Aggregates.
Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets
Maintains data sets about juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. Data sources include official records and self-report data from surveys.
Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
Collects full text, abstracts, and citations for U.S. legislative information, regulations, and news with augmented full text coverage of Congressional hearings for 1824-1979. Updated daily when Congress is in session.
Congressional Serial Set
Archives reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is a statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Energy.
GPO Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)
Provides the primary finding tool for the Federal Depository Library publications including descriptive records for historical and current documents with links to full text when available. Also known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT). Updated daily and open access.
Searches multiple U.S. Federal Government databases that retrieve reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Provides data sets generated by the HUD Office of Policy Development and Research. Effors include the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, and microdata from research initiatives such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Lexis Nexis (now Nexis Uni)
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Features data related to education collected and analyzed by the U.S. federal government. Includes reviews and reports on the state of international education too.
National Center for Health Statistics
Compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Contains citations and full text to U.S. legislative information from 1970 to the present, with additional coverage of Congressional hearings from 1824 to 1979.
govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch. govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. govinfo replaced the FDsys website in December 2018
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service. Congress.gov supersedes the THOMAS system which was retired on July 5, 2016. Congress.gov was released in beta in September 2012. The THOMAS URL was redirected to Congress.gov in 2013. The beta label was removed in 2014.