EMPA Orientation to Library Resources: Data and Statistics
Overview of Library & Research Materials for EMPA candidates.
Data and Statistics
Supporting data is central to your arguments and research. Below are just some of the statistical and data resources PSU Library offers.
Additional PA Statistics resources can be found here.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
-
PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowProvides mapping, data, and analytics tools on U.S. demographics, real estate, health, jobs, education, and more topics. Mapping allows for multiple layers and editable data ranges.
-
Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowOffers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data.
-
DataLab This link opens in a new windowProvides a wide range of data collected by the Institute of Education Sciences, National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
-
Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial Edition This link opens in a new windowConsists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
-
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) This link opens in a new windowFeatures data related to education collected and analyzed by the U.S. federal government. Includes reviews and reports on the state of international education too.
-
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowCompiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of U.S. citizens.
-
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.
-
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowMaintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Statistics in print
The PSU Library catalog contains hundreds of print volumes that provide statistical data on a wide variety of subjects. These include:
-
The Historical Statistics of the United States
by
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .H57 2006ISBN: 0521817919Publication Date: 2006-01-30 -
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2017
by
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .S84 2017ISBN: 1598889206Publication Date: 2017-09-28 -
Datapedia of the United States, 1790-2005
by
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HA202 .K87 2001ISBN: 0585428638Publication Date: 2001-01-01 -
The Value of a Dollar, 1860-2014
by
Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor HB235.U6 D47 2014ISBN: 9781619252547Publication Date: 2014-02-01
