Film Studies: Primary and Web Sources

Tracks Hollywood and independent films through all stages of production.

Stats and news about box office receipts, industry people and studios. Also includes sales, film budgets and market info.

Containing more than 35,000 digitized images, this database includes correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.

The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for broad public access.

An online database showcasing the hundreds of women who worked behind-the-scenes in the silent film industry as directors, producers, editors, and more. Always expanding, the database features career profiles on each pioneer, longer overview essays on national cinemas and occupations, still and moving images, and archival and bibliographic resource materials.

An online collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films.

Housing artifacts from every stage of producing, promoting, and exhibiting motion pictures, television, and digital media, the catalog contains 6941 silent film era and licensed merchandise entries.

The site aggregates film reviews, scoring each review. Also scores film reviewers.

A source with helpful links to collectives, initiatives, and further information about women in film.

The OAC was established in 1967 to foster the arts in Oregon and ensure their excellence.

The Center for Social Media showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with publics to address the problems that they share.

Compiled by the Library of Congress

The International Federation of Television Archives (FIAT/IFTA) was founded in 1977 to promote co-operation amongst television archives, multimedia and audiovisual archives and libraries, and all those engaged in the preservation and exploitation of moving image and recorded sound materials and associated documentation.

Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. The Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works, as well as many indigenous-made work.

With a history dating back to 1974, Bright Lights is a film magazine combining popular and academic styles, with humor and progressive politics. Excellent for those interested in a critical theory as well as a LGBTQ lens on film.

From the web site: "Film Threat’s mission is to champion up and coming indie filmmakers while giving a middle finger to the Hollywood establishment. Sometimes hilarity ensues…"