Film Studies: Open Streaming Video

Al Jazeera's Creative Commons Repository contains broadcast footage that Al Jazeera has released under various CC licenses.

The AAPB is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and GBH in Boston, and is a "collection of 40,000 hours of high quality programs that have national impact." Many audio and video programming includes regional and local programming and includes local news and public affairs programs, local history, and more.

Explore the Archaeology Channel's "video buffet" and see the large collection of streaming media covering a wide range of archeological topics.

This archive provides access to a large number of video interviews with some of TV's legends and pioneers.

Created by PBS, this site is patterned after a nationally broadcast series on contemporary art, artists, and ideas. Among other things, this site has an online lesson library, teacher materials and discussions. Full episodes are available on the PBS portal.

Explore streaming content from the AP, including AP Compilations, and the British Movietone Newsreel.

Collections of British National Archives digitized original video and audio content.

This website offers access to video on a variety of health, safety, and preparedness topics.

Contains C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.

Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's. CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The site provides both simple keyword searching and advanced searching. Content also can be browsed by Events, Places, People, Topics, Media Types (including print, government records, correspondences, etc.) Other features of the site include numerous instructional materials, including lesson plans, quizzes, slide shows, study guides, and worksheets.

Original short films created by established and rising filmmakers.

Culture Unplugged (C.U.) provides access to hundreds of documentary films, that spans multiple facets of global issues, produced through a "socially and spiritually conscious" lens. Note: This link defaults to documentaries from CU's virtual film festival. Scroll down and select "Show Films from Archive" for access to more content.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Individuals can access a trove of thousands of videos across these institutions through DPLA's search interface (by selecting the "moving images" filter on results after performing a keyword search).

"Ensia is a solutions-focused nonprofit media outlet reporting on our changing planet." Their mission is to "motivate and empower people around the world to create a more sustainable future by sharing stories and igniting conversations across sectors, geographies, ideologies and disciplines." Videos licensed CC

The EUscreen portal offers free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries. As well as chronicling important historical events, the EUscreen portal allows you to explore television programmes that focus on everyday experience. EUscreen is also intended to be a resource for educators, researchers and media professionals searching for new audiovisual content from across Europe. Note: see http://euscreen.openimages.eu/media for CC licensed content shared for repurposing.

The films on Folkstreams were produced by independent filmmakers. These documenetaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities. Mission: to find, preserve, contextualize, and stream documentary films on American folklife.

View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.

A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. The Collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works, as well as many indigenous-made work.

View many of PBS's programing online.

Arts, Culture, History, Science & Tech

TED is a non-profit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks.

Videos on a wide variety of subject matter. Note: not all films are available free of charge, some content must be rented.

"YouTube' allows billions of people to discover, watch and share originally-created videos". Note, some content is available through rental or subscription only.

Video Round Table's Public Resource: a very comprehensive list of open access video content. (select "Open Video Collection Websites" under the Table of Contents).