Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
Contains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Contains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)
Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary by
Call Number: R121 .M89 2002 -- 2nd floor reference
Publication Date: 2001-10-09
Dictionary of Health Education by
Call Number: RA440 .D53 2010 -- 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
Call Number: RA423 .E53 2002 -- 2nd floor reference
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by
Call Number: RA427 .E53 2012 -- 2nd floor reference
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
The Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by
Call Number: RA427.8 .E53 2003 -- 2nd floor reference
Publication Date: 2003-01-31