Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Maintains a global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Contains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)
Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Handbook of Environmental Health by
Call Number: RA565 .K67 2003 -- 5th Floor
Publication Date: 2002-07-29
Essentials of Environmental Health by
Call Number: RA565 .F75 2012 -- 5th Floor
Publication Date: 2010-12-07