BA 316U Essentials of Marketing (Business Minor): Private Company
Research Tips
In the US, private companies are not required to release their financials. Therefore, most of the time you won't be able to get detailed financial statements on a private firm. Here are some strategies on researching a private company:
- Company websites and social media channels: your company's vs. your competitors'
- Shopping sites: why buy from them (price, quality, service)?
- Company profile databases: find revenue data (self-reported or estimates) and other limited information (depending on the size of the private firm) from the sources suggested below.
- Industry/market research reports: trends, competition, main players.
- Use industry benchmarks as proxy (e.g., you probably won't be able to obtain financial statements on your competitors that are private firms, but industry benchmark data might shed some light).
- Consumer profiles: demographics and psychographics
- Search for news stories on the company (using library databases or Google). This is especially important when the company is local and/or small. The company might have been covered in newspapers, trade publications, TV segments, or blogs.
- Getting In-Depth Competitive Intelligence on Private CompaniesCreative use of LinkedIn and other free Web resources.
- Library of Congress Guide on Private Company ResearchGeneral resources, some available from PSU Library.
- Using the Internet to Research Private CompaniesBe creative and persistent!
Business Filings
- OpenCorporatesFind places of incorporation and company linkage.
- Secretary of State ListingsLinks to Secretary of State websites and online company search. Limited information.
- Worldwide List of Company RegistersHosted by Wikipedia
List of Top Private Companies
Failed Startups
- AutopsyDatabase of failed startup stories, including location, industry, time period, founders/team, funding, and failure reason.
- Startup GraveyardFailed startup stories, including industry, time period, location, founder, funding, and reasons for failure.
Key Resources for Private Company Research
Company Profiles:
- PrivCo
This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information on US-based private companies. Searchable by companies, investors, funding, and M&A deals.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create a personal account using your PDX email - Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
- This link opens in a new window
For BIG to SMALL private companies. Sales and business expenditures data are estimates.
- Hoover's In-Depth Company ReportsFor BIG private companies. Search by company name. Accessed via Nexis Uni.
- Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email - Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers select private firms. Use the Keyword search field (instead of the default Company search field) in the dropdown menu.
Industry Benchmarks:
- RMA Statement Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Provides financial ratio benchmarks data (norms and ratios) and industry default probablity data. This is the online version of the RMA annual statement studies.
Non-PSU Resources:
- Crunchbase (limited free data)Company directory that covers startups and other private companies. Also offers free or discounted access to their full data through their Academic Research Access Program (faculty and graduate students only).
- Mergent IntellectAvailable from the Multnomah County Library with a free library card. Basic information on public and private companies with "as reported" financials (if available).
- OwlerCrowdsourced company data and news alerts.
Ranked Portland/Oregon Businesses
- Portland Business Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email