Art + Design: Art and Social Practice
Important Links for Art + Social Practice
Art and social practice is "an artistic approach that emphasizes collaboration, shared authorship, public participation, site-specificity, and interdisciplinarity, is often presented in non-art locations, and has no media or formal boundaries.” This definition is provided by Harrell Fletcher, professor, director, and founder of the Art and Social Practice MFA Program at PSU.
Visit the MFA program website for more information.
- Special Collections: Art and Social PracticeDigital content related to The Art + Social Practice Archive, which was founded and organized by Shoshana Gugenheim Kedem, Roshani Thakore, Lo Moran, and Harrell Fletcher, with the help of Cristine Paschild, the Head of Special Collections & University Archives, and Marti Clemmons, Archives Technician, in honor of the PSU Art and Social Practice MFA program's 10 year anniversary. The archive has grown with the assistance of many students and interns.
- PSU Art + Social Practice PublicationsAccess to publications, including Assembly 2020, Conceptual Art in Prison, It Can Change As We Go Along, and more.
- Social Forms of Art (SoFA) JournalThe MFA program publishes the SoFA Journal dedicated to supporting, documenting, and contextualizing social forms of art and its related fields and disciplines.
- KSMoCA Print + Publication ShopKSMoCA produces an ongoing series of catalogues to document the work of Dr. MLK Jr. Students make in collaboration with visiting artists. The catalogues are available for free digital PDF download, or print copies for purchase.
Searching Library Resources for Art + Social Practice Resources
Art + Social Practice books can show up in multiple areas in the library, so if you are browsing the catalog, you might try typing some of these search terms (subject headings) into the search bar (list compiled with reference to guides from Otis College and RISD):
Artists and community
Politics in art
HN: Social history and reform movements
N403-435: Art museums and the public
N6494 I..: Installation art (History)
N8870-9165...: Art and the state. Public art
NC (subclass is drawing/design/illustration)
NC997-1003: Commercial art, Advertising art
NC1280-1850: Ranges from Ephemera "Imagerie populaire", to Posters
ND2550-2733: Mural painting
NX covers all kinds of "special topics" in art:
NX180 covers Artists and community, Arts in politics, society/culture
Featured Resources, Artists, and Topics
- Art + Social Practice PublicationsPublications produced and linked from the Art + Social Practice program, including Assembly 2020, Conceptual Art in Prison, It Can Change As We Go Along, and more.
- Learning to Love You More byCall Number: N72.S6 F596 2007ISBN: 9783791337333Publication Date: 2007-09-20
- What We Made byCall Number: NX180 .S6 F56 2013ISBN: 9780822352846Publication Date: 2013-01-15
- The Everyday Practice of Public Art byISBN: 9781317572039Publication Date: 2015-11-19
- Education for Socially Engaged Art byISBN: 9781934978597Publication Date: 2011-10-01
- Artists Reclaim the Commons byCall Number: N8825 .A77 2013ISBN: 9780295993393Publication Date: 2013-05-24
- Living as Form byCall Number: N8243.S65 L58 2012ISBN: 9780262017343Publication Date: 2012-02-17
- Come Together byISBN: 1616893931Publication Date: 2014-12-02
- Artificial Hells byISBN: 9781844676903Publication Date: 2012-07-24
- Mapping the Terrain byCall Number: NX650 .P6 M36 1995ISBN: 9780941920308Publication Date: 1994-11-01
- It Can Change As We Go Along byISBN: 9781718609136Publication Date: 2018-05-11
- Art As Social Practice byISBN: 9780367769543Publication Date: 2022-06-01
- Culture in Action byISBN: 9780941920315Publication Date: 1995-04-01