Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This guide will help you begin your research in art through the library's collections and beyond.
Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print.
- Find Books - find print and eBooks.
- Reference Works - get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources.
- Primary and Web Sources - quality web resources in the field of art.
- Cite Sources - information on citation formats, citation management tools and more.
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your research.
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts - AATA Online
Consists of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Provides citations to articles and reproductions from Art Index, 1929-1984. Covers all forms of art from antiquity to the twentieth century. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century to the present.
The ARTstor Digital Library, a non-profit resource, consists of images in art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Provides topic and citation searching and identifies articles published in high impact arts and humanities journals.
Arts and Humanities Fulltext
Provides full text journal access to content in the arts and humanities.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Provides abstracts for articles and books on European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index
Provides indexing for design and applied arts literature, reviews, and news from 1973 to the present.
Fine Arts and Music Collection
Provides full text magazines and scholarly journals in the fine arts and music. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.