Art + Design: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Learning the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).
Search for Subject Encyclopedias (PSU Only)
Enter a topic below
Scholarly Subject Encyclopedias
Bibliographies point you to the key works on specific subjects. They are in the stacks by their call number. Anything without a call number is an electronic resource.
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Selected Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Selected Print Resources
N6490 .C6567 2002. 2 volumes | 2nd Floor Reference
Contemporary women artists
N8354 .C66 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference
[Grove's] Dictionary of Art
N31 .D5 1996. 34 volumes. | 2nd Floor Reference. Also available as online database.
Encyclopedia of ancient Egyptian architecture
NA215 .A74 2003 | 2nd Floor Reference
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean art
N6502 .E53 1999 | 2nd Floor Reference
Encyclopedia of World Art
N31 .E533. 17 volumes. | 2nd Floor Reference
Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology
N7760 .V3 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference
Historical Art Index, A.D. 400-1650
N8210 .R6 1989 | 2nd Floor Reference
Islamic art and architecture 650-1250
N6260 .E79 2001 | 2nd Floor Reference & 3rd floor shelves
Mythological and Classical World Art Index
N7760 .R63 1991 | 2nd Floor Reference
Oxford Companion to the photograph
TR9 .O94 2005 | 2nd Floor Reference
Oxford Dictionary of Art
N33 .O93 2004 | 2nd Floor Reference. Also available through Oxford Reference Online.
World Painting Index
ND45 .H38. 2 volumes | 2nd Floor Reference.