Japanese Language & Literature: Reference Works & Online Resources
- Jim Breen's WWWJDICJapanese language dictionary server operated by the Electronic Dictionary Research and Development Group. Must be able to read kana.
- WeblioIncludes Kenkyusha dictionaries
- KotobankSearch 99 dictionaries and encyclopedias at once.
- SmartKanji.netTranslates words written in kanji Japanese texts via various dictionaries.
Oxford Reference Search
Search across encyclopedias in the Arts and Humanities. Subject coverage includes art & architecture, classics, history, literature, mythology & folklore, religion, philosophy, economics, and other fields.
Why Reference Works?
Reference works are an excellent first stop in your research and are incredibly useful for the following:
- Getting an overview of a topic
- Getting topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Brainstorming keywords for searching and learning the vocabulary used by authors in that area
- Learning the key works on a given topic
- Discovering the key authors on a given topic
Reference works are a good starting off point, but should not be cited in your research as they are not considered primary or secondary sources. The only exception is when reference works contain primary and secondary sources (like collections of documents and essays).
Unless indicated, print reference works are located on the second floor of PSU Library.
Online Literature Resources
- Japanese Literary HistoryThe information presented can perhaps be said to constitute the core of the Japanese literary tradition as it is studied by a large proportion of Japan's population.
- Japanese Literature in TranslationThis database covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages, mostly after World War II. Searches can be made either in Japanese character or Roman letters.
- National Institute of Japanese Literature (Japanese Only)Contains reference information on a wide swath of literature and literature-related materials. Included are some digitized versions of archival materials. (NOTE: though there is an icon indicating an English-language version, it appears to be non-functioning.)
- Premodern Japanese Texts and TranslationsThis bibliography covers texts written in Japan before the year 1600. The focus is on literary prose and poetry, but the bibliography also attempts to cover writings of importance for the study of Japanese religion, history, or culture generally. It began as a database of translations into English and other Western languages, but now includes entries for works not yet translated as well as some information about electronic texts and scholarly studies.
- Online Resources for Teaching & Research (Pre-Modern Japanese Studies)Includes online resources for The Tale of Genji as well as classical Japanese language and literature resources.
- Aozora Bunko (Japanese Only)Modern Japanese literary works in full-text.
Encylopedias by Subject
- A History of Japanese Literature byCall Number: PL716 .K64813 1984ISBN: 0691065926Publication Date: 1984-09-01
- Reader's Guide to Japanese Literature byCall Number: PL717 .R56 1999ISBN: 4770023596Publication Date: 1999-07-01
- Handbook of Japanese Mythology byCall Number: BL2203 .A86 2003ISBN: 1576074676Publication Date: 2003-11-05
- Modern Japanese Writers byCall Number: PL723 .M563 2001ISBN: 0684805987Publication Date: 2000-12-29
- Japanese Women Fiction Writers byCall Number: PL747.65 .F35 2002ISBN: 0810840863Publication Date: 2002-04-26
- Historical Dictionary of Japanese Cinema byCall Number: PN1993.5.J3 S45 2011ISBN: 9780810857957Publication Date: 2011-10-13
- The Anime Encyclopedia byCall Number: NC1766.J3 C53 2001ISBN: 1880656647Publication Date: 2001-09-01