Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Core Online Resources
These are likely to be the best online sources in which to start your language and linguistics research:
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Education Research Complete
Includes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Includes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
Professional Development Collection
Includes full text of educator magazines and journals from the mid 1990s to the present.
Gale Educator's Reference Complete
Covers education journals from preschool to college as well as educational technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
Related & Multidisciplinary Resources
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Annual Reviews Online
Composed of full text, research reviews of current and emerging topics in a variety of disciplines including the biomedical, physical and social sciences.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
Maintains online practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and e-books for the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT. Accessible to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. User must sign up with a current PSU email address.
Indexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Print Journal Titles
Education Index, 1929-2003
Z5813 .E23 | Reference and Fifth Floor
Linguistics Abstracts, 1985-2003
P1 .A1 L5123 | Fourth Floor
Emphasis on theory and practice of general linguistics.
Linguistic Bibliography for the Year ...and Supplement for Previous Years, 1939-1995
Z7001 .P4 | Fifth Floor
Valuable for its worldwide coverage of the field of linguistics.
Language Teaching, 1982-2003
P51 .L33 | Fourth Floor
Accessing articles in the PSU Library Catalog
The PSU Library Catalog is a great place to search for articles in selected databases. Once you have found an article that you are interested in, check for the link, Online Access, as shown in the screenshot of the journal article citation. Select this link and then sign into the PSU Library catalog to access the article. Note that the article can be available in more than one database. If there is no Online Access link, there will be an Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery to request the article.
Search for an Article Title at Google Scholar
If you have an article title, search for it at Google Scholar from the PSU Library.
- Enter the title of the article in the Google Scholar search box.
- If PSU Library has the article online, there will be a link, Find it @ PSU.
- Find it @ PSU leads to the full text article record with one or more databases to access it. Be sure to sign in to access the article.