Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local Collections and Archives
Portland State University Special Collections
Holdings include papers documenting Oregon public leadership and planning, from elected leaders Avel Gordly, Gretchen Kafoury, Vera Katz, and Barbara Roberts, and urban planner Ernie Bonner. Other materials on Oregon history.
Portland State University Archives
The historical records of Portland State University, including documents, correspondence, publications, program materials, photographs, moving images, and ephemera from administrative departments, academic units, student organizations, and faculty and staff.
City of Portland Archives & Records Center
Holdings include records generated by the City of Portland, including elected officials’ papers, department reports, planning maps, Ordinances and Resolutions, budget information, correspondence, and photos. Located on the 5h floor of the ASRC Building at PSU.
Oregon Historical Society Research Library
Holdings chronicle the history of Oregon from early European exploration to the present day. To use this library for free, Multnomah County residents should bring proof of address.
Archives West (formerly Northwest Digital Archives) provides information about archival collections at thirty-one archives in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana and Alaska.
The Northwest Digital Archives (NWDA) gives you information on archival collections throughout the Northwest. Most of the collections are not digital themselves, but you can use this archive as a finding aid--to figure out where you might want to visit to find materials relevant to your topic.
Visiting Local Collections
Using a special collections library or archive is different from using public and academic libraries. For example, not all of the items in the collection may be cataloged, and you will probably not be able to browse the collection. The organization may have limited hours. There may rules around what you can bring into the reading area: some will allow only pencils and not pens, and you should plan to leave your food and drinks at home.
To prepare for your visit, explore the organization's website to see what collections they hold. Check the organization's hours. And then contact the organization to make an appointment, as not all archives are open without appointment.