Chicano/Latino Studies: Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
An overview of researching Chicano/Latino Studies at PSU Library and beyond.
Online Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are designed to provide overview, background, synthesis and a quick examination of a topic. Articles are written by discplinary experts for general readers and often will include a selected bibliography of the important works on a particular topic.
Click on the title to access the online encyclopedia:
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latina and Latino Literature by Publication Date: 2020-03-26
The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature by Publication Date: 2012-10-02
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by ISBN: 9781412905503Publication Date: 2006-02-24
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by ISBN: 9780313304255Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater by ISBN: 0810850990Publication Date: 2010-12-18
Miscellaneous Reference Works
Conquests and Historical Identities in California, 1769-1936 by ISBN: 9780520207042Publication Date: 1996-11-20
Chicano Literature by Call Number: Reference Collection -- 2nd floor (PS153 .M4 C46 1984 )ISBN: 0313236917Publication Date: 1985-07-24
Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
Reference sources can perform a number of information functions: define concepts and vocabulary, provide chronologies, provide a coherent overview of a topic or discipline, contextualize a subject area by virtue of the topics which are included in the scope of a particular work, get you up to speed quickly by filling in background facts and themes.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides the Cambridge Histories series online that covers ancient to modern history.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
