Black Studies: More Resources
Data and Statistics
For more resources on data and statistics, please consult the Social Work Research Guide.
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.
- Census BureauOffers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data.
- Historical Statistics of the United States - Millennial EditionConsists of U.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to the present.
Museum of Afro-American History
Includes resource lists, virtual tours and links to other museums with African American collections.
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomberg Center is a national research library providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
African American Organizations
Collection of links to fraternal and social organizations, as well as political and social advocacy groups.
Online home of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.
Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations
E185.5 .O74 2001 | 2nd Floor
- Umbra Search: African American HistoryPublicly available digital archive of African-Americna history. Contains more than 400,000 items from more than 1,000 libraries and cultural organizations.
Dissertations and Theses
- Dissertations and Masters Theses Global (ProQuest)Maintains citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations from 1997 to the present along with citations and abstracts for selected masters theses from 1962 to the present. Includes subject, title, and author indexing to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present.