Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases are great starting points for finding peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Indexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Search for books at the PSU Library
Search the PSU Library catalog and look at the record for the book to see if it's available. Makes sure to write down the call number of the book. You can check out books from the Circulation Desk on the Library's first floor.
AWOL - The Ancient World Online
The primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world. The ancient world is conceived here as it is at the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. That is, from the Pillars of Hercules to the Pacific, from the beginnings of human habitation to the late antique / early Islamic period.AWOL is a project of Charles E. Jones, Tombros Librarian for Classics and Humanities at the Pattee Library, Penn State University
IsisCB Explore History of Science Index
An open access discovery service for the history of science. Built on 40 years of data in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.