Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Book Reviews in History Databases
Start your search for book reviews in history databases, with the title of the book as your search term. Look for a search option that lets you limit the results to book reviews.
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
The online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Using Database Search Limiters
- Enter the title of the book in the search box. Use quotation marks if the search returns too many irrelevant results.
- Many databases have a limiter for book reviews. Select that option for faster results.
Other Sources for Book Reviews
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Covers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
Academic Search Premier
Contains full text of selected journals drawn from all disciplines including humanities, social sciences and the sciences. The search engine offers a limiter by type of publication including "Review".
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. Includes book reviews from included publications. Searching for book reviews in LexisNexis Academic.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.