Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many libraries, museums, and archives have digitized their historic documents and put them online in digital libraries. Here are some large collections (and links to other large collections) you may want to explore.
London Cabmen, circa 1877, from LSE Library via Flickr.
Primary Sources on the Web
The Avalon Project : Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Ruprecht-Karl-Universität Heidelberg--Digital Collections
Digitized manuscripts, charters, incunabula, local histories of the Palatinate, university documents, etc. from the University's collections.
Oxford Digital Library
General access point to all digital collections at Oxford University.
British Library--Digitised Manuscripts
The 'Digitised Manuscripts' section of The British Library website provides access to fully digitised manuscripts held at the Library and their descriptions.
Danish Royal Library--E-manuscript collection
The Royal Library in Copenhagen publishes selected parts of its collections on the Internet. Since 1997 the Manuscript Department has published complete digital facsimile editions of manuscripts.
An extensive list, by country, of websites with European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
Offers public domain photographs and other photographs from national and international libraries, museums, archives, and cultural institutions.
Archives images of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.