European History: Primary Sources in Library Databases
A guide to resources in researching European history (1450-present) at PSU Library.
Primary Source Collections on Europe
- British PatheConsists of the archive of the British Pathe news corporation from 1896 to 1970. The archive covers history, social history, sports, news, and entertainment. Closed captions are not available.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Offers full text digital facsimiles of titles from the earliest printed works in the English language.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes full text of important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with important works from the Americas.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. JacobsIncludes digitized books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights in the US, Europe, and around the world. Materials date from 1534 to 1945, with especially strong coverage of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- Making of the Modern WorldArchives books or monographs on economics and business published from 1450 through 1850. Includes materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
- Medieval Travel WritingFeatures digitized medieval manuscripts of important European travel writing from the later Medieval period, focusing on travels from Europe to the Holy Land, India, and China. Includes travel maps.
- Romantic Era RedefinedFeatures the full text of Romantic-era literature focusing on poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works between 1800 and 1830.
International Primary Source Collections with European Content
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes full text of important printed works published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with important works from the Americas.
- Empire OnlineFind primary source documents on colonial history, politics, and culture from 1492 to 2007, primarily about the British Empire, especially Africa, the Americas, Australia, Oceania, and South Asia.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeArchives primary source documents for the study of slavery and abolition with materials from Africa, the Caribbean, the U.S., Latin America, and Europe from 1490 to 2007.