Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic Newspapers on the Web
|Newspaper from the Historical Jewish Press
These websites host large collections of digitized newspapers relevant to Judaic Studies:
Early American Newspapers I, II, and III
Covers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
To find current and historical news articles, explore these Library databases.
Consists of the archive of the British Pathe news corporation from 1896 to 1970. The archive covers history, social history, sports, news, and entertainment. Closed captions are not available.
Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
Gale Onefile News (InfoTrac Newsstand)
Provides access to leading international newspapers, major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as selected transcripts from popular television and radio news programs in the U.S.
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents.
Provides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times
Provides full access to the New York Times from 1980 to present.
Oregonian Newspaper Index Search (1852-1987)
Indexes citations to Oregonian articles published from 1852 to 1987.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Includes Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906, and other authoritative indexes that cover 19th century periodicals, books, newspapers, and patents as well as U.S. and British government documents.
New York Times Historical File (1851-2013)
Archives the New York Times from 1851 to 2013 with full page images and articles.
Current Headlines: New York Times > Jews and Judaism
Current Headlines: Jerusalem Post
Current Headlines: Yedioth Ahronoth (English)