Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias can be an excellent place to start your research. Here are some good choices for starting your research on the Holocaust.
Researching Specific People by Name
Here are some strategies to find information about specific people.
Researching Specific Places by Name
Here are some strategies to find information about specifics towns, cities, and villages.
- Develop a list of all the alternate spellings of the name, for example Lviv, Lvov, Lwow, Lemberg, etc. The history of places in Europe can be complex: Lviv is now in the Ukraine, but has been part of Poland, Austria, and the USSR.
- Search the Encyclopedia Judaica and the Holocaust Encyclopedia. This will provide background information.
- Search the PSU Library Catalog. Use the place name and "Holocaust" or "Shoah."
- Yizkor books are Holocaust memorial books often written by societies in memory of places destroyed and inhabitants killed. Most are in Hebrew and Yiddish, but some are in English or have sections in English. Search for Yizkor books in the PSU Library catalog. You can also search translations of Yizkor books at the JewishGen.org website.
Yad Vashem Holocaust Resource Center
Large collection of documents, testimonies, artifacts, and photographs relating to many aspects of Holocaust history.
Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust: Archival Sound Recordings
Personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors from across Europe now living in Britain, browsable by name and country (interactive map)
Full-Length Testimonies | USC Shoah Foundation Institute
Collection of short clips of oral history interviews with Holocaust survivors. 12 full-length interviews are available online.
Voices of the Holocaust Project
Audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with Holocaust survivors conducted by Dr. David Boder in 1946. Not all of the interviews were in English, but English translation is provided for all the transcripts.
Jewish Partisans Educational Foundation
A list of former WWII-era partisans with links to video clips of oral testimony.
Image Bank WW2
This database brings together all images of the Second World War in the collections of Dutch war and resistance museums, commemoration centers and the Netherlands Institute for War Documentation (NIOD).
A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust (USF): Documents
Links to many documents, esp. U.S. government documents on the Holocaust.
Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
A repository of interviews with Holocaust survivors at the University of Michigan-Dearborn.
Before the Holocaust: Concentration Camps in Nazi Germany, 1933-1939
Online research project from Birkbeck, University of London, including many documents.
USHMM Personal Histories
Gateway to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum's online collection of excerpts from survivor testimony. Arranged thematically.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies: Excerpts
Excerpts from one of the largest repositories of survivor testimony videos, housed at Yale University.
Letters to Sala: A Young Woman's Life in Nazi Labor Camps
Online exhibit at the New York Public Library. Each section includes facsimiles of documents and English translations.
Our Shared Legacy: World War II and "The Joint"
Digitized archives of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC), documenting the JDC's rescue and relief efforts during and after the Holocaust.
Learning about the Holocaust through Art
Browsable exhibit of Holocaust-era art, organized by artist and place. Full search capability. Created by World ORT and the Ghetto Fighters' Museum (Israel).
The Holocaust was the systematic, state-sponsored persecution and murder of approximately six million Jews, planned, directed, and executed by the National Socialist (Nazi) regime of Germany and its collaborators from 1933-1945.
Here you will find some resources for researching the people, places, and history of the Holocaust.