Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
Locating articles in French may take a little extra effort. Please review the find article section of the Research Guide for Vernacular or Non-English Resources for more background and tips on locating and retrieving materials in French.
Use the tabs to navigate through the following pages of the guide:
- Find Articles - search for articles online and in print. Recommends the best resources for finding articles.
- Reference Works - Get background information on your topic, identify key authors and works, and more by using bibliographies, subject encyclopedias and biographical sources recommended on this page.
- Web Sources - data and primary sources related to archaeology that you can mine for your research, videos, professional organizations, scholarly societies and other quality web resources.
Core Online Resources
ARTFL is comprised of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Offers full text articles on critics, and literary theorists as well as critical and theoretical schools and movements.
Grangers World of Poetry
Comprised of full text poetry, poetry citations, commentaries, biographies, and bibliographies.