Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find it @ PSU
If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).
Scholarly, Professional, Popular?
The first thing you should do when you have a research assignment is figure out what types of article sources are required or allowed. Some professors require you to use only scholarly peer-reviewed journals while others might let you use professional journals (also known as trade journals.
Scholarly article - written by an expert in the field and reviewed by peers who are experts in the same area. In many databases, you can limit your search to scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed journals to weed out any non-scholarly content.
Professional/trade article - Trade or professional journals can have articles written by experts in the field or by staff writers. The articles are only reviewed by editors for style, so they go through a less rigorous review process. The articles often do not contain reference lists.
Popular journals - Written for a general audience rather than for professionals or scholars. Examples include The New Yorker, People, and Rolling Stone.
Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It
If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan. Please note: it can take up to a week or more to secure an article from another library.
Core Online Resources
ARTFL is comprised of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles, dissertations, and books about world literature, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1921 to the present.
Provides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.
Literature Resource Center
Provides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Offers full text articles on critics, and literary theorists as well as critical and theoretical schools and movements.
Grangers World of Poetry
Comprised of full text poetry, poetry citations, commentaries, biographies, and bibliographies.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984.
International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
Indexes citations for international plays and playwrights in collections, anthologies, and periodicals held by the PSU Library. No longer updated as of December 2013.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal citations and other publications covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Additional Journals of Interest:
RELIEF-Revue électronique de littérature française
An international peer-reviewed journal aimed at researchers in the field of French literature and culture of the Middle Ages to the present. Accessible via the Directory of Open Access Journals.
Contemporary French & Francophone Studies
Focusing on French and Francophone studies, with the aim of reflecting the interdisciplinary direction taken by the field and by the humanities and the arts in general. From March 1997 to a year from the current day, due to a 12-month embargo on the most recent issues.
Searching for a Known Article: PSU Library Catalog