Environmental Science and Management: Web Data & Map Resources

Provides information about national environmental science topics as well as local environmental information.

Provides information on climate, weather, and marine research.

Includes current projects and programs in Oregon, publications, laws, and regulations.

Gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies.

A global network of tree diversity experiments, which provides research on the relation between tree species diversity and ecosystem functioning in major forest types around the world.

Covers research in geology and biology.

Provides a comprehensive set of digital spatial data containing information about surface water features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, springs and wells.

Provides interactive, high-quality, topographic maps and digital data.

Out of the McHarg Center at the University of Pennsylvania, this Atlas was conceived in relation to three intersecting issues. First, excess carbon in the atmosphere is changing the world’s climate; sea levels are rising, temperatures are increasing, and destructive weather events are becoming more frequent. Second, because our systems of extraction, production and consumption are causing climate change, an incremental approach to the future is not an option. Third, the US population is expected to grow by at least 100 million people this century, adding significantly to what is already the world’s most consumptive, high-carbon economy.

Covers projected population, land use, temperature, mortality, human migration and effects on agriculture and the economy across the globe.