Environmental Science and Management: Find Articles

Guide for Library Research in Environmental Science and Management

Grey Literature

arXiv
Provides open access to e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
IssueLab
Covers case studies, evaluations, white papers, annual reports, government reports issue briefs, and numerous other materials addressing the world's social problems that include aging, crime and safety, nonprofit and philanthropy, race and ethnicity, and transportation.
OpenGrey
Covers grey literature produced in Europe focusing on science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and the humanities.
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
Includes a database with abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. Also includes a paper collection of full-text documents.
Web of Science
covers proceedings and published scholarly literature

DEQ
Reports from Oregon's Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
EPA
Reports from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
FDA
Reports from the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Get the Full Text

If you don't see the PDF, click the green "FindIt@PSU" button. This will check for the article online through another database or the print version on the shelf.

If PSU doesn't have the article, you can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL). ILL takes 3-5 business and will come to you as a PDF.

ESM Databases

Agricola
Provides citations to journal articles, government reports, and books in agriculture and related disciplines.
Environment Complete
Provides full text journals, books, and reference works that cover agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts along with urban planning.
Agricultural & Environmental Science
Provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in agriculture, aquaculture, environmental, ecology, food and human nutrition, and water resources journals, conference proceedings, EPA reports, and books.
GeoRef
Offers citations and abstracts about the earth sciences including palaeontology.
GreenFILE
Covers climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy sources, and recycling with a particularly strong emphasis on governance.
Web of Science
Covers high impact research journals with particular strength in science and social science.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
JSTOR
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles.