CHLA 450U: Latinx in Education: Background Information
Search for Subject Encyclopedias (PSU Only)
Encyclopedias are designed to provide overview, background, synthesis and a quick examination of a topic. Articles are written by discplinary experts for general readers and often will include a selected bibliography of the important works on a particular topic.
Click on the title to access the online encyclopedia:
- Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education byPublication Date: 2008
- Latinas in the United States byISBN: 9780253346803Publication Date: 2006-05-03
- Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement byISBN: 9780313304255Publication Date: 2000-05-30
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States byPublication Date: 2005
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology byISBN: 9781412909488Publication Date: 2006-08-18
- Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements byISBN: 9781405197731Publication Date: 2013-02-25
- Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education byPublication Date: 2008
- Encyclopedia of Education Law byISBN: 1412940796Publication Date: 2008-06-27
- Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education byISBN: 0313300291Publication Date: 1999-05-30
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
General Reference Works
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.