CHLA 450U: Latinx in Education: Welcome!
Welcome to your Library Course Guide!
Welcome to your Portland State University Library (PSU) Challenge library guide for CHLA 450U: Latinos in Education! Here you will find useful information about Library resources and services to support your academic success! Take time to browse the web pages that you can access from the navigation bar. There are videos and screenshots that describe key ways to approach your research for papers and presentations.
If you have any questions, Ask a Librarian!
Welcome to the Library!
Portland State Library is centrally located on the south park blocks. We offer comfortable study spaces, reservable study rooms, computers, printing, and library collections.
Check our website for current hours. Your PSU ID card is required to enter the building.
Visit the Circulation Desk to check out course reserves, materials, laptops, and other equipment.
Get help right away via Ask a Librarian.
Core Databases
Use databases to identify articles that have been published on your topic. The databases listed below provide academic articles regarding aspects of Chicano/Latino Studies, or they are multidisciplinary in their focus but include coverage of Chicano/Latino issues. You may find that you want to look for topics from the perspective of particular discipline. You can choose a disciplinary database from the Library's subject listing of databases.
-
Latino Studies - Oxford BibliographiesProvides a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, every article in our database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
-
ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations and full-text access to education research found in journals, books, and grey literature.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
-
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings in the field of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
-
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collections This link opens in a new windowContains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times through the 20th century. Content is in both Spanish and English.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
-
American West This link opens in a new windowContains manuscripts, books, maps, photos, and other materials focusing on the American West.
Signing in to Access Library Resources Video
This video describes the different ways to sign in to access library materials.
Librarian
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
- Contact a librarian 24/7 using our chat services.
- Email questions will receive a response in one business day.
- You can get help in person at the research help desk, 1st floor of the Library these days and times.
Related Library Guides
Report a Resource or Video Error
The Library strives to provide accessibility to all online content. If a library resource or video is not accessible, or you cannot retrieve it or view it, please let us know using our Report an Error form.