PHE 443U - Environmental Health: Choose a Topic
On this page
- Why reference works?
- Topic Development Video
- Search for Reference Sources
- Full-text Online Reference Databases
- Selected Reference Works
- Databases
- Useful Websites
Topic Development Video
This video will help you find a topic that's not too broad, not too narrow, but just right.
Selected Reference Works
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
by
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780805798913Publication Date: 2024 -
Handbook of Concepts in Health, Health Behavior and Environmental Health
by
ISBN: 9819708214Publication Date: 2024 -
-
Useful Websites
-
Environmental Protection Agency"The EPA's mission is to protect human health and the environment."
-
World Health OrganizationFind publications, reports, data, and statistics compiled and written by the World Health Organization.
-
Recalls.govYour online resource for recalls.
-
CDC: Environmental Health ResourcesTopics include food safety, drinking water, recreational water, vector control, and more.
-
Oregon Health Authority: Environmental Public HealthWorks to identify, assess and report on threats to human health from exposure to environmental and occupational hazards, and advise Oregon communities on potential risks where they live, work, play and learn.
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
-
Sage eReference This link opens in a new windowContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Databases
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowOffers reports on key issues in the U.S.Congress from 1923 to the present. Includes a searchable archive by keyword, date, or subject.
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowMaintains controversial contemporary topic summaries and overviews of current issues that include aspects of the issues along with pro and con arguments and opinions.
