Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Select Local Reports
Housing and Food Insecurity at Portland State University
Housing and Food Insecurity at Portland State University, September 2020
A report by:The Portland State University Homelessness Research & Action Collaborative
Authors:Greg Townley, Katricia Stewart, Jacen Greene, and Marta Petteni.
"This report presents findings from Portland State University’s first housing and food insecurity survey of students and employees."
The Quarterly Outcomes Report
The Quarterly Outcomes Report tracks the investments that A Home for Everyone has made in Multnomah County and the outcomes.
"Domicile Unknown" is an annual report on community members who die without a known address.
Preserving Housing Choice and Opportunity: A Study of Apartment Building Sales and Rents
A 2017 report by Seyoung Sung, Portland State University and Lisa K. Bates, Portland State University.
Homelessness in the Portland Region: A Review of Trends, Causes, and the Outlook Ahead
"This report seeks to advance the policy discussion for a problem that some residents and
policymakers have deemed intractable. It reviews the literature on homelessness determinants,
explores local trends in homelessness, puts Portland’s challenges into a broader national
context, and organizes possible responses into a four-part policy framework."
Governance, Costs, and Revenue Raising to Address and Prevent Homelessness in the Portland Tri-County Region
"This report takes a comprehensive look at the scale of homelessness and housing insecurity
experienced in the Portland tri-county area."
FUSE: People with Frequent Utilization of Public Services in Clackamas County, Oregon: Potential Service Enhancements
"The Regional Research Institute for Human Services and the Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning at Portland State University conducted this one‐time study on the feasibility of reducing the use of high‐cost public services by providing permanent supportive housing to the individuals with the highest utilization of those services."
Preference Assessment of Temporary Shelter/Housing for People Experiencing Homelessness: Survey findings by the PSU Homelessness Research & Action Collaborative
"To better understand where some people experiencing homelessness would prefer to live temporarily during the threat of coronavirus/COVID-19, we conducted a survey in Portland, Oregon. We know that people experiencing homelessness differ in their needs, circumstances, and preferences. Some people stay in tents or shelters, while others live temporarily with friends or family or in vehicles. We sought to understand the range of complex circumstances in order to know how to advocate for resources that people experiencing homelessness need and want."
Where to look for more Reports and White Papers
Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN)
Features academic networks for many disciplines in the social sciences. Includes a database with abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. Also includes a paper collection of full-text documents.
SIREN stands for Social Interventions Research & Evaluation Network and is a creation of UCSF. "This Evidence Library contains research articles, issue briefs, reports, and commentaries that either focus on or are relevant to evaluating health care-based interventions that address patients’ social and economic needs. We prioritize for inclusion resources that carefully describe and evaluate the social needs components of these interventions, and to a lesser extent those where the social components are mentioned but are not the primary focus of the work. The library currently includes only papers published since the year 2000."
Contains free access to case studies, evaluations, white papers, annual reports, issue briefs, and numerous other materials addressing the world's social problems that include aging, crime and safety, government reports, nonprofit and philanthropy, race and ethnicity, and transportation.
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.