Urban Studies: Find Statistics/Demographics
Economic and Business Data
- EconData.NetRegional economic activity
- U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)National, regional, industry data addressing economic growth, economic development, and interindustry relationships
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)Labor market activity, working conditions, and other labor changes
- U.S. Economic CensusA profile for American business, conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau every 5 years.
- Oregon Employment DepartmentLabor force and employment statistics
Health
- Oregon Center for Health StatisticsBirths, Deaths, and other vital records
- Human Development Reports (U.N.)International health data
General Population Data
- FedStatsMaking statistics from more than 100 agencies available to citizens everywhere.
- Census Bureau
This link opens in a new window
Offers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data. - Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Maintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- Washington State Office of Financial Management (OFM)Population estimates, forecasts, and projections
- PSU Population Research CenterFind data from the PSU Population Research Center including estimates, forecasts, and more.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.
GIS Resources
- Clackamas County - GISGIS information specific to Clackamas County, Oregon. Use CMap, the county's interactive internet map viewer, to create maps with data layers about services, jurisdictions, zoning, and more.
- Multnomah County - GISGIS information specific to Multnomah County, Oregon. Includes demographic profiles, and highlights special projects which demonstrate how Multnomah County GIS has been used within various county departments.
- GIS.comA resource guide provided by the developers of the product, Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI). This site provides glossories, directories and career information about GIS. A good place to start to learn more about the product.
- Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote SensingComprehensive online dictionary developed by the Earth Sciences & Map Library at UC Berkeley.
- USGS-GIS Education ResourcesA site sponsored by U.S. Geological Survey's Education and Communications Program. Provides lessons, tools, and guidelines for using GIS, with particular emphasis on ArcView and ArcGIS software from ESRI.
- Census Bureau
- This link opens in a new window
Offers population, housing, economic, trends, and geographic data. - HUD UserProvides data sets generated by the HUD Office of Policy Development and Research. Effors include the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, and microdata from research initiatives such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- Data.govData.gov provides access to federal open government data as well as data from state, local, and tribal governments.
- Oregon Spatial Data LibraryPart of Oregon Explorer, the Oregon Spatial Data Library provides easy and convenient ways to find, access and share geospatial data.
- National Historical Geographic Information systemProvides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2013.
Demographics Books
Demographic, housing & socioeconomic profile of the city of Portland neighborhoods : selected data from the 1990 Census of population & housing STF3ACall Number: F884 .P86 A234 1992 (3rd Floor)
The Lucky Few: Between the greatest generation and the baby boom by Call Number: GN33.5 .C38 2008 (Basement)Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Transition and Challenge: China's population at the beginning of the 21st century by Call Number: HB887 .T73 2007 (Basement)Publication Date: 2007-04-19
The Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics by Call Number: HB871 .N43 1998 (Basement)Publication Date: 1998-12-01
American Incomes by Call Number: HC110.I5 A684 2009 (Basement)Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Demographics by Call Number: HB849.4 .D447 2006 (Basement)Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Immigration
- Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Immigration StatisticsImmigration statistics
International Data Sources
- EurostatEuropean economic and demographic statistics
- Europa World and/or the Regional Surveys of the WorldCovers political and economic information about countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Miscellaneous
- ChildStats.govChild and family statistics for the U.S.
- U.S. Military RecrodsMilitary personnel records for the United States
- County and City Data BooksAccess to County and City Data Books (1944-2000)
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsStatistics on all forms of transportation in the United States
- Historical Statistics of the United States - Millenial EditionU.S. demographic and economic statistics from colonial times to present.
- OECD iLibraryGeneral statistics and demographic data
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services—Administration for Community LivingCensus data, well-being, and projections data regarding aging.