Skip to main content

Judaic Studies: Encyclopedias & Atlases

Resources for researching Judaic Studies

Core Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide excellent background information and are a great place to begin your research. Encyclopedias may be online, on the second floor of the Library in the Reference Collection, or on the shelves with other books on similar topics. Check the catalog for details.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Print: DS102.8 .E496 | Basement

Oxford Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Particularly useful for those new to Judaic Studies
Online through PSU Library

Encyclopaedia of Judaism
Somewhat more detailed and theological in approach
Online through PSU Library

Reference Works on Jewish Culture

YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe

Blackwell Companion to Jewish Culture from the Eighteenth Century to the Present
DS102.8 .B46 1989b | 2nd floor

The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust
DS135.E8 E45 2001 | 2nd floor

Jewish Films in the United States: A Comprehensive Survey and Descriptive Filmography
DS115.95 .Z9 F68 | 2nd floor

Jewish-American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
E184 .J5 J48 1992 | 2nd floor

Reference Works on Israel

In progress... this content to be updated soon.


Reference Works on Judaism

The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Print: BM50 .E632 2002 | Basement

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Online through PSU Library
Print: BM50 .O94 1997 | 2nd floor

The Jewish Religion: A Companion
Print: BM50 .J28 1995 | Basement

Historical Dictionary of Judaism
Print: BM50 .S65 1998 | 3rd Floor

Encyclopedia of Jewish Concepts
Print: BM50 .B55 1979 | Basement

Reference Works on History

Antisemitism: A Historical Encyclopedia of Prejudice and Persecution
DS146 .E8 A58 2005 | 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Jewish History: Events and Eras of the Jewish People
DS118 .E465 1986b | 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
D804.3 .E53 1990 | 2nd floor

The Holocaust Encyclopedia
D804.25 .H66 2001 | 2nd floor

Jewish-American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
E184 .J5 J48 1992 | 2nd floor

Atlases

Atlas of Modern Jewish History
G1030 .F6513 1990 | Maps, 4th Floor

Atlas of the Jewish World
DS117 .D4 1984 | Off-Site Collection, Make Request