Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In This Guide
This guide includes reference works and resources useful for research on Philosophy. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are in Branford Price Millar Library. For further suggestions and for additional help please contact me, ask at the Reference Desk on the second floor, or try Ask a Librarian.
Core Online Resources
Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Collected Works of John Dewey
Contains all 38 volumes of The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953, created by the Center for Dewey Studies, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale.
Google Scholar searches the academic, scholarly Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Searching Google Scholar from the Portland State University Library will identify full text articles available from PSU Library resources as well as open access articles from other universities and colleges.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Contains citations and full text scholarly articles related to philosophy and religion. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Report a Resource or Video Error
The Library strives to provide accessibility to all online content. If a library resource or video is not accessible, or you cannot retrieve it or view it, please let us know using our Report an Error form.