Philosophy: Find Articles

Find it @ PSU

If the article you have found in a database doesn't have the full-text right there, click on the button to see if the article is available in full-text in another database. If we do have it, it will take you to a page that shows you where it's available (if you see a Download Article link, you can click to access the electronic copy).

Find a Specific Article

If you have the citation for a specific article, here is how you can figure out if PSU has the article and (if we do) get to it in full-text:

  1. On the front page of the library website, do a Journal Title search for the title of the journal (not the article title) in your citation. This will require you to change what is being searched from All to Journal Titles.
  2. You'll then be taken into the catalog which will either show your title or will show a page that says Your entry ___ would be here. If you get that message, make sure you spelled the title correctly. If you did, then we probably don't have that journal in our collection.
  3. If we do have the journal, it will show up as either a print volume, an electronic volume (which will say [electronic resource] after the title) or both. You'll need to click on the linked title to see what our coverage is in each format.
    • If the journal is in print, it will show you the call number and location under Location and will show what years the library has under Library has.
    • If the journal is available online, it will show you what database or databases hold the journal and what years are available electronically. You can then click on the title of the database to get to the online journal and then browse by date or search by title (depending on the database) for your article.

Interlibrary Loan When We Don't Have It

If we don't have a journal article you need for your research in our collection, we can get it for you! Just request it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.  Please note: it can take up to a week or more to secure an article from another library.

Accessing articles in the PSU Library Catalog

The PSU Library Catalog is a great place to search for articles in selected databases. Once you have found an article that you are interested in, check for the link, Online Access, as shown in the screenshot of the journal article citation. Select this link and then sign into the PSU Library catalog to access the article. Note that the article can be available in more than one database. If there is no Online Access link, there will be an Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery to request the article.

Article Online Access Link Portland State University Library Catalog

database access for an article

Databases

Journal Title Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Report a Resource or Video Error

The Library strives to provide accessibility to all online content. If a library resource or video is not accessible, or you cannot retrieve it or view it, please let us know using our Report an Error form.