Child, Youth, & Family Studies: Find Peer-Reviewed Research Articles

Core Databases

Family Studies Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts on family studies research, including family therapy, marriage, children, and youth.
PsycINFO
Maintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
Social Services Abstracts
Includes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ERIC (EBSCO interface)
Covers all aspects of education on all educational levels.
Education Source
Includes citations and full text articles from education research journals, books, and conference papers.
Web of Science
Maintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.

Related Databases

Gender Studies Database
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Indexes and contains full text of international literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transexual, and transgender issues.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Offers citations, abstracts, and full text articles in scholarly journals on crime trends, prevention and deterrence, juveniles, police, courts,and sentencing.

Characteristics of a Scholarly Journal Article

Articles in peer-reviewed, scholarly journals have particular characteristics that can help you recognize them:

1. Author's name, position, affiliation (usually a university), and contact information are listed.

2. The article has clearly labeled sections. These section titles may vary, but usually include at least:

abstract
literature review
methods
results
discussion

3. The article has a list of cited references at the end.

The Peer Review Process Video

3 minute video on the peer review process, created by the North Carolina State University Libraries: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/pr/

Find it @ PSU

If the article citation does not include links to the full text, click on the Find it @ PSU button to check availability. Find it @ PSU is the link to the full text article if available. Go to the link listed under "Online Access" to click through to the article.

If the PSU Library does not hold the article online or in print, order it through Interlibrary Loan & Article Delivery.