UNST Health, Happiness, & Human Rights : Scholarly Articles

Search the PSU Library Catalog for Articles

Start your search for scholarly articles at the PSU Library catalog. Begin by typing in your keywords into the search box on the library homepage and running the search. Then limit your search results by selecting either the Peer Reviewed Journals filter under the availability header, or the Newspaper Articles filter under the resource type header (just select one at a time to limit to just that resource type). Limit your search to the last five to ten years to see the most current research on your topic. Be sure to Sign In so that you can add relevant articles to your My Favorites for easy access. Pertinent articles may include links to similar articles on the right hand side of the item record where you will find other articles like the one that you are interested in.

Search for Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier
Provides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

These databases are great for your research!

Alt-HealthWatch
Contains full text articles and other publications covering topics in complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
America: History and Life
Includes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition
Presents article citations and full text articles from health and medicine journals.
Historical Abstracts
Find citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
JSTOR
Contains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
ProjectMuse
Indexes citations for books and articles as wells as full text articles and ebooks from scholarly presses.

Search Google Scholar

Finding Recent Articles in the Library Catalog Video

This video demonstrates how to find recent newspaper and peer reviewed articles in the Portland State University Library Catalog.

Search for an Article with a Citation Video

Using Google Scholar Video

Three Paths to Scholarly Articles

You can use any or all of the tools below to search for articles.

	Library Catalog: search box on the library homepage	Specific Subject Database	Google Scholar: search from the PSU Library website
Strengths	Covers articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, and newspapers; Searches over 400 databases at once, so article can be available in more than one database; Can see immediately whether one article is available in full text, or if not, request via Interlibrary Loan directly; For retrieval options anytime, anywhere, you need to sign in with your Odin account.	Has a more focused scope like economics or history; Better interface with more search options/limiters and discipline-specific subject keywords; You just need to sign in with your Odin account to access anytime, anywhere.	Journals from a wide range of subjects, including ones that are not indexed in the catalog; The Google search engine; Includes "Cited by" for articles; Access to open access articles with links.
Weaknesses	You need to know to lock the filters in order to change your keywords; Not all PSU full text journals are indexed here; May produce too many results; Must sign in first to see the full results and request options.	Missing journals in subject from other databases; May need to use Find it @ PSU to check for full text status; May have to order from Interlibrary loan through the Library website.	Lack of sophisticated search options/limiters May produce too many results; Must use Find it @ PSU to locate full text.
Best For	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); if you are exploring a topic (especially an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.	If you need to do subject-specific or advanced searches using various options/limiters.	If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article); If you are exploring a topic ( an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.