Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies.
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies.
Company profiles, financials, news, etc.. For Hoover's in-depth company report, use this link
Business Source Premier
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information. Some additional content may be freely available during the Covid-19 Pandemic.
Investext (via Mergent Online)
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.
Provides profiles on select (mostly large) companies.
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics.
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Provides profiles of U.S. companies, health care providers, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies.
Offers U.S. firms and their locations in other countries as well as firms based in other countries with locations in the United States.
In the US, private companies are not required to release their financials. Therefore, most of the time you won't be able to get detailed financial statements on a private firm. Here are some strategies on researching a private company:
- Company websites and social media channels: your company's vs. your competitors'
- Shopping sites: why buy from them (price, quality, service)?
- Company profile databases: find revenue data (self-reported or estimates) and other limited information (depending on the size of the private firm) from the sources suggested below.
- Industry/market research reports: trends, competition, main players.
- Use industry benchmarks as proxy (e.g., you probably won't be able to obtain financial statements on your competitors that are private firms, but industry benchmark data might shed some light).
- Consumer profiles: demographics and psychographics
- Search for news stories on the company (using library databases or Google). This is especially important when the company is local and/or small. The company might have been covered in newspapers, trade publications, TV segments, or blogs.
Good for researching startups. Free basic search and company profile.
Available from the Multnomah County Library with a free library card.
Basic information on public and private companies with "as reported" financials (if available).
Provides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations. * PSU doesn't subscribe to it so you have to purchase your own report."