Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies: Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Online Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are tremendously useful resources, especially for researching a new topic. Encyclopedias provide summaries of research topics to get you up to speed quickly: important research findings and researchers, discussions and critiques of theoretical models and methodologies. The summary is followed by a bibliography, leading you to the important articles and books in that area.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies (ebook) by ISBN: 9781405196949Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of gender and society (ebook) by ISBN: 1849725268
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (ebook) by ISBN: 1412926947
Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1405196947Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by ISBN: 9780815333548Publication Date: 1999-12-01- The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by Publication Date: 2016-05-09
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Publication Date: 2008-01-23
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender (ebook) by Publication Date: 2017
General Online Encyclopedia & Reference Sources
Reference sources can perform a number of information functions: define concepts and vocabulary, provide chronologies, provide a coherent overview of a topic or discipline, contextualize a subject area by virtue of the topics which are included in the scope of a particular work, get you up to speed quickly by filling in background facts and themes.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
