Demography: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Packages
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Sage Research Methods OnlineContains full text, Sage research methods books, handbooks, and encyclopedias. Includes videos and interactive mapping tools.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
- Bibliography of Data-Related LiteratureMaintains publications and citations based on the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) data and archives.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Human Geography (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781452265339Publication Date: 2006-05-16
International Handbook on Migration and Population Distribution (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9789401772822Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Migration and Health: A research methods handbook (ebook) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1322105464Publication Date: 2014-01-01
World Population by Call Number: HB871 .G47 2001ISBN: 1576075540Publication Date: 2002-05-10
Handbook of Population by Call Number: HB871 .H3447 2006ISBN: 0306477688Publication Date: 2005-07-13
The Encyclopedia of Global Population and Demographics by Call Number: HB871 .N43 1998Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Demography by Call Number: HB849.2 .P7413 1985ISBN: 0631127461Publication Date: 1985-09-01
Dictionary of Demography by Call Number: HB849.2 .P47 1986ISBN: 9780313241345Publication Date: 1986-12-03
