ENG 444/544 British Women Writers: Sources for Critical Interpretation
Criticism in Books
The kinds of sources that you will use for your annotated bibliography assignment will likely come from essays published in books and from journal articles. Searching the PSU Library catalog will surface books of interest on your particular topic.
Adding the phrase 'Criticism and interpretation' to your catalog search will surface works of criticism quickly.
- Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941 -- Criticism and interpretation.
- Carter, Angela, 1940-1992 -- Criticism and interpretation.
- Rhys, Jean -- Criticism and interpretation.
- Winterson, Jeanette, 1959- -- Criticism and interpretation.
- a keyword search : Zadie Smith criticism
For example, the search on Woolf would locate this book:
-
Ecocriticism in the Modernist Imagination
by
Call Number: PR888.N36 S95 2016ISBN: 9781107161412Publication Date: 2016
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Interational Bibliography is described on the Find Articles page of this guide. The database provides citations to articles, books, chapters and dissertations.
Critical Interpretation
-
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowConsists of summaries of works, Western literary criticism, and literary movements as well as biographical sketches of authors from the classical period to the present.
-
Literature Online - LION This link opens in a new windowIncludes reference works, biographical sketches, bibliographies, and secondary criticism of British and American literary works. Offers full text of some novels, poems, dramas, and prose.
-
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides reference, literary timelines, and articles on authors, journalists, and critics from all literary periods. Covers literary genres such as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
-
Critical Insights This link opens in a new windowProvides access and searching capability to the Critical Insights book series comprised of classic and current literary criticism.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography Online
A subset of the Literature Criticism Online database; the DLB includes monographic length overviews of criticism , historical setting, biographical details for individual authors or a work. Additionally other volumes in the series provide overviews for groups of authors by genre or historic setting.