FIN 449 Valuation: Industry Profiles/Data
Industry & Market Research Reports
Recommended:
- Mintel
This link opens in a new window
Maintains market research reports and consumer demographic/lifestyle profiles covering U.S. and international marketplaces. - Passport (by Euromonitor)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive statistics and analyses on countries, industries, companies, and consumers. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics from over 18,000 free and proprietary sources on a wide range of topics such as business, media, and demographics. - Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Business Source Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and citations to articles in various business publications; also includes company profiles, industry profiles, and country information.
Others:
- Investext (via Mergent Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Automotive News Data CenterMaintains international statistics on the automotive market including sales, production, inventory, and incentives. PSU faculty/staff/students please log in with your PSU (ODIN) ID to view username/password. Visitors please contact the Reference Desk.
- SMA: Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRNet: Sport Business Research Network)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of market segmentation for sporting goods, sports e-commerce, sports marketing, sports sponsorship, and sports facilities as well as articles on sports broadcasting and social media.
Industry Classifications
Industry classification systems are created to promote data comparability. NAICS (current version) and SIC (older version) are the most widely used in the United States. You can search by codes to find information on industries or sectors in many databases and government websites. However, NAICS and SIC focus on broader industry activities and may not have a specific code for niche/emerging industries. Many databases (e.g., Hoover's) also have their own classification systems.
- NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)Standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Updated every 5 years.
- SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)Older system (doesn't cover industries that emerged after 1987).
Industry Benchmarks
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
In the report, click on Key Statistics to view industry statistics and ratios. - RMA Statement Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Provides financial ratio benchmarks data (norms and ratios) and industry default probablity data. This is the online version of the RMA annual statement studies.
