Health Administration: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
-
Sage eReference This link opens in a new windowContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
-
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content) This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
Reference Works
-
Health Politics and Policy
by
Call Number: RA395.A3 H43 2011 - 2nd floor ReferenceISBN: 9781849205023Publication Date: 2011-02-09 -
The SAGE Handbook of Health Care Ethics
by
Call Number: R724 .S254 2011 - 2nd floor ReferenceISBN: 9781412945349Publication Date: 2011-02-07 -
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management (ebook)
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781452265247Publication Date: 2003-10-21 -
The Public Health Quality Improvement Handbook (ebook)
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0873897587Publication Date: 2009-04-01
NCBI Bookshelf
-
NCBI Bookshelf - Health BooksFull-text online books on health, health education, health care, and health policy from NCBI Bookshelf. Publishers include ARHQ, National Academies Press, and more.