SW 564 Social Work in Schools: Find Research to Support your Intervention
Recommended Databases
- PsycINFOMaintains citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations in psychology about human behavior from 1879 to the present. Nearly 2500 journals are indexed in PsycINFO, and the database is updated weekly.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface)Indexes education documents (ED), and education journal articles (EJ), from 1966 to the present. Covers all educational levels and aspects of education.
- Social Services AbstractsIncludes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Tips for Keyword Searching
1. Construct your search using the keywords and/or phrases relevant to your topic.
- Use OR to search both keywords/phrases
- Quotation marks can be used to search for phrases (e.g. "social cognition")
- Truncation searches for variants of a word. Use an asterik (*) at the root (e.g. psych* searches for psychology, psychologist, psychological, psychosocial)
2. You can focus your search on research articles related to school social work by adding the following to your topic search:
- "school based interventions" OR "school counseling" OR "school social work"
If this limits your search too much and you aren't getting any results, go back and remove this from your search.
Using Limits in PsycINFO
Use limits to filter results for specific aspects of the resource such as particular age groups, research methodology, or publication type. These selections help you quickly narrow down results to items most relevant for your assignment.
Get Full Text
Once you've identified an article in a database and you want to the full text, click on the Find It @ PSU button to see if the article is available from journals in the Library (electronic and print). If you see an Online Access link, you can click to access the electronic copy.