FIN 310U Entrepreneurial Finance: Financials/Analyst Reports
Analyst Reports
- Investext (via Mergent Online)
This link opens in a new window
Provides reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries. - Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies.
- Value LineThis is NOT a PSU Library database. Available with a Multnomah County Library Card.
Earnings Conference Calls - Transcripts
Earnings Conference Calls provide insights on a public company's strategies, responses to issues, as well as industry environment and competition. Transcripts may be freely available on company website along with audio and presentations, or through a Google search. Main sources for transcripts:
- FD (Fair Disclosure) Wire (via Nexis Uni)Use the following search terms: [company name] [quarter number] [year] call. For example: Starbucks Q3 2017 call.
- Motley FoolsProvides transcripts of the most recent earnings calls for the companies that they cover.
Public Company Financial Data
Recommended
- Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed information on US and international public companies. - Business Insights: Global
- This link opens in a new window
Provides company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, investment reports, articles, financials, and case studies. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text sources for regional, national, and international newspapers as well as business, legal, and medical publications, and also, government documents. - Compustat North America (WRDS)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. Includes Execucomp (quarterly). Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. After logging in with PSU ID, user will get a 3-day Access Pass. Log in again to get another one after the previous pass expires. User may also request an account
- SEC EDGAR: company filingsCompany filings (including 10-Ks) from 1994 to present.
Others
- Yahoo FinanceCompany information (description, financials, news, etc.) and market data (stock and mutual fund performance).
- Rank and FiledData organization and visualizing tool to SEC filings, providing quick access to financial data, ownership information, word frequency analysis, etc.
Market Data
Recommended
- FINRA Market DataMarket data on equities, options, mutual funds, bonds, as well as company information.
- Yahoo FinanceCompany information (description, financials, news, etc.) and market data (stock and mutual fund performance).
- WSJ Market DataMarket data on stocks, bonds, currencies, and commodities.
- FRED Interest RatesInterest rates for loans, CDs, mortgages, bonds, and more.
- CRSP (WRDS)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Access limited to current PSU students, faculty, and staff. After logging in with PSU ID, user will get a 3-day Access Pass. Log in again to get another one after the previous pass expires. User may also request an account
Others
- Morningstar Investment Research CenterAvailable with a Multnomah County Library Card.
- Value LineThis is NOT a PSU Library database. Available with a Multnomah County Library Card.
- Financial Ratings OnlineAvailable with a Multnomah County Library Card.