Real Estate Development: Reference Works
Why Reference Works?
Scholarly reference works are useful for the following:
- An overview of a topic
- Topic ideas for a paper topic or narrowing your topic
- Finding keywords for searches
- Bibliographies for further research
Reference works are good starting points for research, but are rarely cited in research as secondary sources.
Search for Reference Sources (PSU Only)
Full-Text Online Reference Databases
- Sage eReferenceContains full text encyclopedias and reference books in the social sciences and humanities. Search by keyword or browse by topic.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineContains full text Oxford University Press handbooks on topics in the fields of business, management, philosophy, political science, and religion. Handbooks provide overview, background, historical synthesis and reference lists.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Portland State University Library Content)Features full text scholarly encyclopedias and reference works. This expanded collection of the Oregon Gale Virtual Statewide Reference Library includes Portland State University purchased titles.
- Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesMaintains a global reference on the environment, energy, and natural resources.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The Shorter Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms by Call Number: HD1365 .A233 2004 (2nd Floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2004-08-01
The Dictionary of Real Estate Appraisal by Call Number: HD1387 .D435 2010 (2nd Floor Reference Collection)Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Encyclopedia of Housing, Second Edition (ebook) by Publication Date: 2012-06-13- Plunkett's real estate & construction industry almanacCall Number: HD251 .P58 (Basement)
Handbooks
Residential Development Handbook by Call Number: HD259 .U7 2004 (Basement)Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Multifamily Housing Development Handbook by Call Number: HD7287.6 .A3 M85 2000 (Basement)Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Facility Management Handbook (ebook) by Publication Date: 2014-07-30
The Real Estate Solar Investment Handbook (ebook) by Publication Date: 2013-10-30
