Indigenous Nations Studies: Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Subject Encyclopedias
Scholarly subject encyclopedias provide background information about specific topics. Entries or articles, written by scholars or subject experts, include bibliographies or suggested readings that will lead to more information on your topic.
You can use subject encyclopedias to identify keywords for your research in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Background Information Video
This three-minute video shows how to find background information
Selected Subject Encyclopedias
Indigenous Peoples: an encyclopedia of culture, history, and threats to survival by Publication Date: 2020
Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by Publication Date: 2012-11-15
General Online Encyclopedia & Reference Sources
Reference sources can perform a number of information functions: define concepts and vocabulary, provide chronologies, provide a coherent overview of a topic or discipline, contextualize a subject area by virtue of the topics which are included in the scope of a particular work, get you up to speed quickly by filling in background facts and themes.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIncludes scholarly bibliographies that provide research guidance in several topical areas. Our current subscriptions cover the classics, Jewish studies, Islamic studies, Latino studies, medieval studies, the renaissance and the reformation, British and Irish literature, childhood studies, Chinese studies, cinema and media studies, American literature, education, communication, linguistics, philosophy, public health, and international relations.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains full text subject encyclopedias, reference works, dictionaries, and handbooks in all disciplines.
Selected Subject Dictionaries
Historical Dictionary of Native American Movements by Call Number: E93 .L43 2008Publication Date: 2009
