USP 316 - Community Organizing & Social Change: Researching the Movement
Tips
- Look for newspaper articles that were published around the time of the event or movement you're researching to gain some context of the event.
- Look for any editorials written and/or published from the movement's perspective.
- To find editorials and opinion pieces, consider adding "editorial" or "opinion" as keywords in your search.
- If your social movement is more recent, you will find less information on it in peer-reviewed articles and other resources.
- Use subjects in book and article records to inform how you can modify your search strategies.
Newspapers
- Early American Newspapers I, II, and IIICovers early American newspapers, a major primary source for American history. Provides unprecedented access to the nation's newspapers from 1690 to 1876. Series I covers 1690-1876, while series II and III cover 1821-1876.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- Newspaper SourceProvides selected full text of regional and national newspapers in the U.S., as well as international newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.
- New York Times Historical FileArchives the New York Times from 1851 with full page images and articles.
Scholarly Articles
- Urban Studies AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts for urban affairs, community development, and urban history.
- Academic Search PremierProvides selected full text, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsIndexes articles related to political institutions, international law and politics, public policy, public administration, political theory, and political economics. Indexes sources from 1975 to the present.
- America: History and LifeIncludes citations of articles and books on the history and culture of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
- Historical AbstractsFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
- JSTORContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
- PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)Covers public affairs, public and social policy, and international relations. Includes national and international journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, and pertinent web sites.
- Social Services AbstractsIncludes citations of journal articles, dissertations, and conference proceedings focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.