Search the PSU Library Catalog: Three paths to Scholarly Articles

Library Catalog: search box on the library homepage

• Covers articles from hundreds of scholarly journals, and newspapers;
• Searches over 400 databases at once, so article can be available in more than one database;
• Can see immediately whether one article is available in full text, or if not, request via Interlibrary Loan directly;
• For retrieval options anytime, anywhere, you need to sign in with your Odin account.

• Has a more focused scope like economics or history;
• Better interface with more search options/limiters and discipline-specific subject keywords;
• You just need to sign in with your Odin account to access anytime, anywhere.

• Journals from a wide range of subjects, including ones that are not indexed in the catalog;
• The Google search engine;
• Includes "Cited by" for articles;
• Access to open access articles with links.
  
   

• You need to know to lock the filters in order to change your keywords;
• Not all PSU full text journals are indexed here;
• May produce too many results;
• Must sign in first to see the full results and  request options.

• Missing journals in subject from other databases;
• May need to use Find it @ PSU to check for full text status;
• May have to order from Interlibrary loan through the Library website.

• Lack of sophisticated search options/limiters
• May produce too many results;
• Must use Find it @ PSU to locate full text.

​Best For 

• If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article);
• if you are exploring a topic (especially an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.

• If you need to do subject-specific or advanced searches using various options/limiters.

• If you already have a citation (or at least the title of the article);
• If you are exploring a topic ( an interdisciplinary one) and not sure where to start or what keyword(s) to use.