WR 121 College Writing: Search for News
Why Use News?
Newspapers are excellent sources of information. Newspapers report about what is going on in our local communities, our states, our nation, and the world. Use a newspaper to:
- Find information about very recent events
- Locate in-depth coverage of regional/national/global issues
- Read about multiple perspectives surrounding an issue
- Examine issues in the context of the time they took place; see how people viewed an event when it happened
- Give a snapshot of a time period detailing how people lived (what they ate, what they purchased, etc)
Caution: Always evaluate what you find! The Evaluation tab at the top gives tips to help you critically evaluate the information you find.
3 Paths to News Video
How to Choose Your News
Find Newspaper Articles
Local Newspapers:
- The OregonianDaily newspaper based in Portland, Oregon, covering issues from all over the state of Oregon.
- Portland Business Journal
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Portland Business Journal (and other city business journals) and Book of Lists. You must create an individual account to access.
PSU faculty/staff/students please create an account using your PDX email
National and Global Newspapers:
- U.S. Major DailiesProvides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.
- Wall Street JournalOffers full text articles in The Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition, 1984-present) and the online edition (2010-present ), excluding stock quotes and classified ads. Updated daily.
- Ethnic NewswatchIncludes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.
- World News ConnectionAn archive of international news translated into English. It includes foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from 130 countries.
Historical Newspapers:
- New York Times Historical FileArchives the New York Times from 1851 with full page images and articles.
- Oregonian -- Historical Backfile 1861-2018Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 2018, presented in image format as they appeared in the newspaper.