IELP Library Guide for Student Research: News

Includes current newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and community publications of the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Includes scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Provides full text in English and Spanish.

Access to the Oregonian from 1987 to present. Additionally, 2017 to present is available in image format (digital reproduction of the print). 

Contains archival, full text articles of the Oregonian from 1861 to 2018, presented in image format (digital reproduction of the print).

Includes digitized historic Oregon newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.

This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.

Provides full text access to: The Chicago Tribune (1985-present), The Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and The Washington Post (1987-present). Closed captions are available. Interactive transcripts are available for many, but not all, titles.

Consists of searchable digital facsimiles of local newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Read eyewitness reporting, editorials, letters, advertisements, obituaries, and reviews.

Archives the New York Times from 1851 with full page images and articles.

Archives social science data that includes aging, child care, criminal justice, demography, education, political science as well as public and mental health.

Provides full text access to books, journals, and statistical databases produced by Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD) online library.

Maintains the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to access current and historical U.S. Census data and demographic information. It contains maps, profile reports, data elements, and variables.