Medieval History: Secondary Sources
Articles in Library Databases
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMaintains citation searching for high impact research journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences and includes emerging sources citation indexing from 2005.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFind citations to academic articles on world history (except the U.S. and Canada), from the 15th century to the present.
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations to articles from scholarly social science and humanities journals from 1907 to 1984.
-
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes citations to journal articles and book chapters about the Middle Ages covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa from 300 to 1500.
-
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowThe online bibliography covers literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
-
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIndexes full text IEEE and IET journals, conference proceedings, and standards.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContains full text articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning of a journal's publication and typically excludes the most recent three to five years.
History Books
Books (also called monographs) are essential to historians. Books can be written by one person or include a series of essays by several historians. One strategy to find books on your topic is to use a keyword search to find relevant subjects. For example, I searched the keyword phrase medieval social history in the Portland State Library Catalog. The second result seemed very relevant, a book called Economic and Social History of Medieval Europe. I clicked on the Details tab, then I looked at the subject headings listed. Clicking on a subject heading will get me quickly to many more books on the same topic.
From the Royal Library of Denmark
Medieval Portland
-
Medieval PortlandMedieval Portland gathers resources that are now in Portland, Oregon for learning about medieval Europe and the Middle East.
The research presented in the database is from both published sources as well as original research by students in the Medieval Portland Capstone taught by Anne McClanan, Professor of Art History at Portland State University.
Medieval Portland gathers resources that are now in Portland, Oregon for learning about medieval Europe and the Middle East.
The research presented in the database is from both published sources as well as original research by students in the Medieval Portland Capstone taught by Anne McClanan, Professor of Art History at Portland State University.